Personal Take On An Awesome New Book- “Trans Bodies, Trans Selves”

While hanging out with my family yesterday afternoon, we were listening in on NPR and heard a few interesting things concerning the LGBT community, firstly that Florida was finally headed somewhere towards marriage equality, and the latter being a story on the new ‘textbook’ resource for transmen and transwomen- Trans Bodies, Trans Selves: A Resource For The Transgender Community.

The NPR interview link is here=> http://www.npr.org/2014/07/17/332051691/trans-bodies-trans-selves-a-modern-manual-by-and-for-trans-people

Although I personally haven’t read it yet (on my Christmas list) I’ve done a wee bit of research on it. The title is a play off of the feminist manual Our Bodies, Ourselves, and is a base inspiration for the book. Laura Erickson-Schroth, the editor has worked with many another transperson, legal and health officials to put together ” a resource guide for transgender populations, covering health, legal issues, cultural and social questions, history, theory, and more.” (taken from their webpage http://transbodies.com/) I honestly can’t wait to pick this up and share it further with you, as I truly believe this might just be the next biggest step we need to understand ourselves, and educate others. As a young adult trying to transition to male, I can greatly appreciate any help or information I could get my hands on, and so a thank you goes out to the wonderful people who got together to write this.
Okay, book review over, I’ll be back soon!

One thought on “Personal Take On An Awesome New Book- “Trans Bodies, Trans Selves”

Leave a comment